Dasara Detox : Burn 10 Weaknesses & Nurture 10 Strengths

October 15, 2021 0 Comments

Dasara, is a festival that symbolises the the victory of ‘Good over Evil.’ It is the day when Lord Rama killed the ten headed demon king Ravana and Goddess Durga won over the demon Mahishasura. Dasara is also celebrated as Vijaya Dashmi. The word Dasara is derived from Sanskrit words “Dasha” and “hara” meaning removing the ten. In Sanskrit, ‘Vijaya’ means Victory and ‘Dashami’ means 10th day. ‘Thus Vijaya Dashami’ means victory on the 10th day.

Dasara has been celebrated for a long time now; But Ravana and the demon Mahisasura still live on. Dussehra is the festival to contemplate and kill ten bad qualities, which are represented by the ten heads of Ravana and nurture good qualities of Lord Rama and Goddess Durga within us.

 Kill & sacrifice the 10 bad qualities:

(1) Arrogance: a display of superiority or self-importance.

(2) Anger: an emotional response related to one’s interpretation of having been threatened.

(3) Delusion: a false belief, opinion and resistant to confront reality.

(4) Greed: an excessive desire for more than is needed or deserved),

(5) Impulsive: acting without reflection and thinking of the consequences)

(6) Jealousy: a mixed emotion that encompasses feelings of insecurity, fear and anxiety over  an anticipated loss of something.

(7) Procrastination: An act of delaying tasks especially something requires immediate attention.

(8) Hatred: extreme dislike.

(9) Lethargy: avoiding actions and laziness to take action.

(10) Indecisiveness: the state of being unsure of something, a lack of firmness of purpose. 

Arise, awake and burn these qualities.

Nurture 10 strengths:

(1)   Courage: Not shrinking from threat, challenge, difficulty, or pain; acting on convictions even if unpopular.

(2)   Persistence: Finishing what one starts; persisting in a course of action in spite of obstacles.

(3)   Integrity: Presenting oneself in a genuine way; taking responsibility for one’s feeling and actions. Demonstrating authenticity and honesty.

(4)   Modesty: Letting one’s accomplishments speak for themselves; not regarding oneself as more special than one is.

(5)   Self-regulation: Regulating what one feels and does; being disciplined; controlling one’s appetites and emotions.

(6)   Love: Valuing close relations with others, in particular those in which sharing and caring are reciprocated.

(7)   Kindness: Doing favors and good deeds for others. Demonstrating generosity, nurturance, care, compassion, altruistic love, and niceness to others.

(8)   Hope: Expecting the best in the future and working to achieve it.

(9)   Forgiveness: Forgiving those who have done wrong; accepting the shortcomings of others; giving people a second chance; not being vengeful.

(10)  Wisdom: Being able to provide wise counsel to others; having ways of looking at the world that make sense to oneself and to other people.

Wouldn’t it be a much more meaningful celebration if we could take a pledge to burn these bad qualities and replace them with the ten strengths? Or at the very least, become mindful of those bad qualities and rein them in as much as we can?

Wishing everyone a lovely, festive Dasara with your families.

Source : The Speaking Tree